Uber and Lyft ridesharing services are hugely popular in New Jersey, and both companies have a huge fleet of cars operating on the road. If you were taking an Uber and Lyft ride and were involved in an accident, you may have the right to file for compensation for your injuries. However, filing a claim can be more complicated than you think. For instance, who should you blame – the person who owns the car, Uber, the driver behind the steering wheel, or another party? To know if you have a claim and what your claim is worth, it is wise to hire an experienced North Bergen Uber accident attorney.
Table of Contents
The need for an experienced attorney
Uber, Lyft, and other ridesharing services in NJ are required to maintain insurance up to $1,500,000 for passengers, but the mandatory coverage, which covers medical bills, is just $10,000. Without an attorney, or law firm, experienced in such accidents and related claims, you can get up getting a raw deal. Truth be told, most victims either do not know about their rights with regards to filing claims for ridesharing accidents, or they end up accepting what is being offered, simply because they don’t want to deal with the complications.
With an attorney, you can expect to take the right steps from the start. You can also consider looking at the website https://policydevelopment.org/ for the benefits of a car accident attorney.
Contact for legal advice ASAP
You have two years to file a personal injury claim in New Jersey, from the date of the accident. However, you should consider contacting a reliable attorney as soon as you get medical assistance and feel better. This is important because you need to gather evidence and witnesses, to prove the case, and your attorney can act sooner on the legal aspects.
If you are hiring an attorney, do ask them about your claim’s worth and what to expect from the case.